Students to Perform “The 25th Putnam County Spelling Bee”


The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee will be performed November 3rd and 4th.

The Northwood players are back. This November 1st, 3rd, and 4th they are performing “The 25th Putnam County Spelling Bee” musical in the auditorium. This Musical was originally performed on Broadway in 2005, and it was written by William Finn and Rachel Sheinkin.

“The reason we chose this play was so that we could produce it prior to the winter sports season because we had a lot of skiers and hockey players who were interested in joining,” said ctor and English teacher Noel Carmichael. “We also wanted to do something funny and this play is definitely that,” said Carmichael, who also wanted to announce that the play requires multiple audience volunteers for every performance.

The play’s choreographer, sophomore Jasmin Valenzuela, said “The play is funny and teaches many different lessons.” Morgan Broderick ‘19 is also in the show and said, “I’ve seen this play before and know how funny it is. I’m also nervous because of all the words we have to remember.” This is a fear that many other performers also have. Noah Pittman ‘21 said “There are a lot of long words in the play, and I don’t want to mess them up.”

Some of the performers have experience in dancing and acting. Valenzuela said, “The reason I wanted to join the play was because of my background in dance and my love for music.” Morgan similarly said “I love to dance, I’ve been dancing for years and this is a great opportunity for that.”

The play is going to be a fun experience and everyone should go.

Olive Ovstrovsky: Ana Spencer
William Barfeé: Isaac Newcomb
Logainne Schwarzandgrubenierre: Morgan Broderick
Charlito “Chip” Tolentino: Noah Pittman
Marcy Park: Courtney Fairchild
Leaf Coneybear: Charlie Purcell
Rona Lisa Perreti: Lexi Hooper
Vice Pricipal Douglas Panch: Quincy Pell
Mitch Mahoney: Adelia Castillo

Angelia Castillo
Jessica Lin
JoJo Rosenbluth
Jazzy Valenzuela

4 surprise audience participants…

Ms. Noel Carmichael

Ms. Brianna Knapton

Jasmin Valenzuela
Ms. Noel Carmichael

Braelyn Tebo
Ruoci Liu

Ms. Ingrid Van Slyke
Jessie Li
Rachel Rosner
Alan Gu
Sarah Ellsworth
Paul Han
Martin McDonough
Xu Li
Zheqi Wang

Mr. Michael Portal
Selina Li
Jane Baumer


Story Archive

The Mirror was established in 1927
© 2015-2022 by the Staff of The Mirror
The Mirror's Policy Manual and Style Guide.
The Mirror is funded by gifts to the Northwood Fund. Thank you.

%d bloggers like this: