Six Students Earn STEM Honors

Six Northwood female students recently won recognition for their computing-related achievements. It’s the third year in a row that Northwood’s girls have received such recognition and more girls were honored this year than ever before. Two girls were honored in each of the previous two years.

73314886_579731255902376_5698522987259494400_nThe NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC) honors 9th-12th grade students who self-identify as women, genderqueer, or non-binary for their computing-related achievements and interests, and encourages them to pursue their passions. Award recipients are selected based on their aptitude and aspirations in technology and computing, as demonstrated by their computing experience, computing-related activities, leadership experience, tenacity in the face of barriers to access, and plans for post-secondary education.

Comp Girls

Top row, from l to r: Emilie Venne ’20, Angie Castillo ’21, and Braelyn Tebo ’20
Bottom row, l to r: Kate Hagness ’21, Lexi Hooper ’20, and Miranda Bookman ’20
All photos: Mr. Michael Aldridge

The multi-tiered award structure includes Winner, Honorable Mention, Rising Star, and Certificate of Distinction designations at National and Regional Affiliate levels, serving all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and all U.S. overseas military bases. Regional Affiliate Award programs are hosted in 79 locations nationwide by NCWIT Alliance member organizations—a powerful, national network of universities, companies, non-profits, and government organizations working to increase the influence and meaningful participation of girls and women from every community.

The Northwood School winners at the regional affiliate award level include:

  • Emilie Venne ’20 – Winner
  • Angie Castillo ’21 – Honorable Mention
  • Braelyn Tebo ’20 – Honorable Mention
  • Kate Hagness ’21 – Honorable Mention
  • Lexi Hooper ’20 – Rising Star
  • Miranda Bookman ’20 – Rising Star

Venne is the first Northwood girl to win the award and Tebo earned the recognition for the second-straight year.

Congratulations to the amazing women for this accomplishment and thank you to Mr. Jeff Martin, robotics team coach and chair of Innovation, Engineering, and Entrepreneurship at Northwood.

For a complete list and to learn more visit 2020 Aspirations Award Recipients.


Story Archive

The Mirror was established in 1927
© 2015-2022 by the Staff of The Mirror
The Mirror's Policy Manual and Style Guide.
The Mirror is funded by gifts to the Northwood Fund. Thank you.

%d bloggers like this: