Predictions: NHL Awards

One of the most exciting times for NHL hockey players is happening soon. On Wednesday June 21st in Las Vegas, NHL hockey players are recognized for their successful seasons.  Players are nominated for a series of award based on skill, leadership, and character.  The major awards include the Hart Trophy, Vezina, Calder, The Art Ross, and the Norris trophy.



Connor McDavid

The Art Ross Trophy is awarded to the point leader, therefore there is no voting involved in the process. This year Connor McDavid led the league with an astounding 100 points in his dominant sophomore season.  He was 11 points ahead of number two Sidney Crosby. Currently the McDavid-led Edmonton Oilers are playing the Anaheim Ducks in the second round of the playoffs.




Connor McDavid

The Hart Trophy is awarded to the MVP of the NHL.  The contenders this year include Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh), Connor McDavid (Edmonton), and Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus). All of these players led their team to the playoffs this season.  The Penguins finished 2nd overall, Edmonton finished 8th overall, and Bobrovsky’s Blue Jackets finished 4th overall. I think McDavid gets the award because he is so valuable to his team and he finished with the most amount of points.




Brent Burns

The Norris Trophy is awarded to the league’s best defenseman.  The nominees are Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay) , Erik Karlsson (Ottowa) , and Brent Burns (San Jose).  Erik Karlsson is expected to take home this prize with a phenomenal season while bringing the Senators to the eastern conference finals. However I believe that Brent Burns will be the ultimate winner because he tallied the most amount of goals by a defenseman this year with 29 and 76 points.



Sergei Bobrovsky

The Vezina Trophy is awarded to the top goaltender in the NHL. The nominees include Braden Holtby (Washington), Carey Price (Montreal), and Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus). I believe Bobrovsky is the runaway favorite for the award, as he leads the NHL in save percentage (.933). He also took the Blue Jackets on an incredible 16 game winning streak and carried the team to its most successful season in franchise history.




Auston Matthews

Next is the Calder Trophy, awarded to the best rookie in the league. Zach Werenski (Columbus), Patrick Laine (Winnipeg) , and Auston Matthews (Toronto) are the three choices for this award. Auston Matthews will win it because he accomplished something no rookie has done since Alex Ovechkin: scoring 40 goals in his first year in the league.  Werenski and Laine also had respectable years; however, I believe Matthews was the most valuable player on the Maple Leafs. Without him, Toronto would be a different team offensively. Matthews also helped spark Zach Hyman to a great sophomore season.


Todd McLellan, Connor McDavid, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

Todd McLellan

The Jack Adams Trophy is given to the NHL coach of the year. The nominees this season include John Tortorella (Columbus), Mike Babcock (Toronto), and Todd McLellan (Edmonton). I believe Todd McLellan receives this award. The Oilers have been a joke ever since 2007. They claimed year after year they were in a “rebuild stage,” but after three consecutive first overall draft picks they were still unable to reach the playoffs. The revolving door of coaches made it seem like there was no answer for the Edmonton Oilers. Then Todd McLellan was hired and led them to a second place finish in the Pacific Division. He als is currently carrying them on an historic Stanley Cup run in the postseason.


Story Archive

The Mirror was established in 1927
© 2015-2022 by the Staff of The Mirror
The Mirror's Policy Manual and Style Guide.
The Mirror is funded by gifts to the Northwood Fund. Thank you.

%d bloggers like this: